Char-Koosta News

The Official Publication of the Flathead Nation online

CSKT member Dana Hewankorn awarded scholarship

From  Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

Prior Lake, MN – The Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community (SMSC) and the University of Minnesota announced the newest class of scholarship recipients for the SMSC Endowed Scholarship program. They include Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Member Dana Hewankorn and 18 Native American students from 10 different tribes.

The new scholars represent fourteen undergraduate students and five graduate students.

The SMSC Endowed Scholarship program was established through a $2.5 million gift to the University of Minnesota from the SMSC. The gift leveraged a former university matching program that doubles the impact of the gift to students. Since the program began in 2009, more than 200 students have received this scholarship. Thirty-eight students are enrolled this year, representing more than 30 tribal nations across the United States.

The new 2017-2018 SMSC Endowed Scholarship recipients include:
• Dana Hewankorn, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes (MT)
• Millie Baird, White Earth Band of Ojibwe (MN)
• Mika Barrett, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Ojibwe (WI)
• Chandell Boyd, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe (MN)
• Jenna Cashman, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa (MN)
• Austyn Dagen, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa (MN)
• Jeremy Flaherty, Stebbins Community Association (AK)
• Reece Foster, Klamath Tribes (OR)
• Theo Liberty, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe (MN)
• Tatianna Maghan, Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (MN)
• Falon McNabb, Rosebud Sioux Tribe (SD)
• Kelly Nayquonabe, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Ojibwe (WI)
• Charles Neher, Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin (WI)
• Dannah Nephew, White Earth Band of Ojibwe (MN)
• James Pendleton, Lower Sioux Indian Community (MN)
• Autumn Person, White Earth Band of Ojibwe (MN)
• Madilyn Ross, Upper Sioux Community (MN)
• Charity Valentin, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Ojibwe (WI)
• Alexandrah Walker, Meskwaki Nation (IA)

The University’s Office for Equity and Diversity administers the scholarship. Native American students who have been admitted to any University of Minnesota campus are eligible to apply for the SMSC Endowed Scholarship. Scholarship applications for the 2018-2019 academic year are due March 1, 2018, for undergraduate students and May 1, 2018, for graduate students. Visit for more information.

About the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
The Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community is a federally recognized, sovereign Native American tribe located southwest of Minneapolis/St. Paul. Following a Dakota tradition of generosity, the SMSC is one of the top philanthropists in Minnesota and is the largest contributor to Native American tribes and causes across the country. It is a strong community partner and a leader in protecting and restoring natural resources. The SMSC’s government, Gaming Enterprise, and various other enterprises are collectively the largest employer in Scott County.

Advertise with us!
submit to reddit
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious