Char-Koosta News

The Official Publication of the Flathead Nation online

Judicial nomination commission solicits applications for 20th Judicial District Judgeship

Chief Justice Mike McGrath has notified the Judicial Nomination Commission that the Honorable C.B. McNeil, district judge for the 20 Judicial District, will retire effective September 5, 2013. The 20th Judicial District covers Sanders and Lake Counties.

The Commission is now accepting applications from any lawyer in good standing who has the qualifications, set forth by law, for holding the position of district court judge. The application form is available electronically at:, or by contacting Lois Menzies at:, or (406) 841-2957. Applications must be submitted electronically as well as in hard copy. The deadline for submitting applications is 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 7. The Commission will announce the names of the candidates thereafter.

The public is encouraged to contact Commission members regarding the applicants during the public comment period, which will begin Friday, August 9, and close Monday, September 9, 2013.

The Commission will forward the names of three to five nominees to the Governor for appointment after reviewing the applications, receiving public comment, and interviewing the applicants if necessary. The nominee appointed by the Governor will serve until January 2015. The position is subject to election at the primary and general elections in 2014. The successful candidate will serve for a full six-year term.

The Judicial Nomination Commission members are: District Judge Richard Simonton, of Glendive; Shirley Ball, of Nashua; Mona Charles, of Kalispell; Patrick Kelly, of Miles City, Lane Larson, of Billings, Ryan Rusche, of Columbia Falls; and Paul Tuss, of Havre.

Advertise with us!
submit to reddit
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious