Char-Koosta News

The Official Publication of the Flathead Nation online

Ronan School’s Indian Education Committee recognizes nominees for educations awards

By Alyssa Nenemay

RONAN — The Ronan School District’s Indian Education Committee (IEC) hosted its third annual recognition banquette to honor nominees for the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribal Education Awards.

Although winners of the awards are pending, the IEC encourages each of its district’s nominees with a certificate and a feast. Nomination letters submitted by the public determine each year’s nominees and the Tribal Education Department selects the winner of each category.

The IEC is made up of parents of enrolled tribal students attending school in each district. The committees are required to host monthly meetings to discuss and create the schools’ Indian education plan and are responsible for parent participation and control of how funding provided by the National Johnson O’Malley Association (NJOMA) will be spent.

NJOM is a non-profit organization that provides financial assistance to public schools to “meet the unique and specialized educational needs of its Indian students.” “JOM funding” is provided in addition to state and federal school funding.

Nominees for the tribal education awards recognize students, parents, and staff who have contributed to the school’s Indian education initiative. Students are recognized for their leadership, community service, and cultural outreach. Parents are recognized for their patience and dedication to the advancement of education, and staff members are recognized for taking an extra initiative for Indian students.

The following is a list of nominees honored during the Ronan IEC’s banquette:

Pablo Elementary
Students: Talayna Endfield and Mossy Kauley

Parent: Catherine Addison
Staff: Joan Howell

K. William Harvey Elementary

Students: Aaliyah Decker and Franki Whitworth

Parents: Arnold Little Boy and Carmel Couture

Staff: Ted Madden

Ronan Middle School

Students: Elijah Cahoon, Kianna Finley, Tashyna Matt, Isidra Perez, and Chenoa Wunder-Finley

Parent: Alijah Cahoon

Staff: Dave Edington

Ronan High School

Students: Shelby Grant, Amber Quequesah, and Stormie Perdash

The Ronan School District’s IEC meets the first Wednesday of each month in the Ronan Middle School library at 6 p.m. Its current members are: Ron Couture, Cristen Two Teeth, Desara YellowOwl, and Ellen Rose BigCrane. The committee is in need of an additional member and those interested are encouraged to contact Mirand Burland at (406) 675-2700, ext: 1074.

Advertise with us!
submit to reddit
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious